Inspiring Our Youth
To Realise Their Potential
Back to Newsletters

Seeking entries for Region’s Innovation Awards

2015 RDANI Innovation of the Year was UNE’s Smart Farm project, received by Professor David Lamb.
2015 RDANI Innovation of the Year was UNE’s Smart Farm project, received by Professor David Lamb.

Businesses, public and not-for-profit organisations, together with the 13 Local Councils in the Northern Inland region are being urged to submit entries for the 8th annual Regional Development Australia Northern Inland (RDANI) Innovation Awards.

Each year the gala Northern Inland Innovation Awards dinner and presentation evening is held in a different regional centre. In 2015, these regional Awards will be presented at the Glen Innes Services Club on Friday, 20 November.

RDANI Chair, Russell Stewart said there are great innovators throughout the region. “Many of our unique operators can get so busy doing what they do, they don’t stop and think about what they do and how they produce or deliver innovative products and services.”

“Well, if you’ve managed to do things better, differently, or just survive through exceptionally difficult times, as the result of an innovative product, service or approach, then you should be proud enough to put you hand up for recognition and maybe your story will inspire or educate others,” Mr Stewart said. “I would like to see as many businesses and organisations as possible take just a little time to tell us their story.

Simply go to the Awards’ website: www.niia.com.au to enter or to find out more information. Entries close on Monday 28th, September.”

RDANI Executive Officer, Nathan Axelsson said the awards also address the additional need for regional businesses and organisations to be innovative, in light of their location in a regional economy. “Through innovation, regional operators can achieve improved outcomes, sharpen their competitive edge, access new markets and deliver better services.”

The Innovation Awards are an initiative of Regional Development Australia Northern Inland (RDANI). “The practical importance of these awards to the region is demonstrated by the generous support they receive, by organisations which are supportive of this region and innovation, in their own right.  This year, we are grateful for support from Prime Super, the University of New England, Northern Tablelands Local Land Services, Best Employment, Telstra Inverell and the Glen Innes Examiner,” Mr Axelsson said.

The NIIA Categories are: Agriculture / Horticulture and associated services; Health, Aged Care and Disability Services; Retail, Tourism & Leisure; Professional and Government services; Manufacturing and Engineering; and Research and Education. The RDANI Innovation Awards judging panel will choose the recipient of the Innovative Community Contribution Award aimed at Local Government and the Not-For-Profit sector. Judges will also vote on the RDANI Innovation of the Year Award from the winners of each category.

Finalists for each category will be invited to attend the gala awards night, with the general public also encouraged to attend.

Related Pages
Share This Page With Someone
Stay Informed
Subscribe to one or more of our regular email subscriptions, to be kept up to date on news and funding opportunities for the region
Choose Your Subscription(s)
Contact Us
Phone02 6771 0700
Opening Hours 9.00am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday
(Except Public Holidays)
Address 143 Marsh Street
Armidale NSW 2350
Postal Address PO Box 72
Armidale NSW 2350
Find Us in Google Maps or Apple Maps
© Copyright 2024 Regional Development Australia - Northern Inland
An Australian Government Initiative