2016 Northern Inland Innovation Awards

The Northern Inland Innovations Awards are an annual awards program aimed at recognising and encouraging businesses, individuals and organisations based in the Northern Inland region of NSW Australia, who are responsible for developing some of this nation's leading innovative products and approaches across a broad range of industry sectors.


If you have a product, service, approach or initiative that can be described as innovative, the Northern Inland Innovation Awards is the ultimate platform for promoting your story, according to Regional Development Australia Northern Inland (RDANI) Chair, Russell Stewart. “Entries are now open and I reckon it’s worth having a go!” he said.

The region-wide awards program is in its 9th year and organisers are proud of its record, in recognising outstanding quiet achievers. “I encourage everyone to get onto the awards website (www.niia.com.au) and check out the videos we have produced of past category winners and finalists. These awards have unearthed and highlighted truly inspiring stories from diverse entries,” Mr. Stewart said. “A great example of that was last year’s Innovation of the Year winner, Lively Linseed of Mullaley.”

Businesses, public and not-for-profit organisations, together with the 12 local councils of the Northern Inland NSW region are being urged to submit entries for the 9th annual (RDANI) Innovation Awards. Entries close on Monday 3rd October, 2016.

Each year the gala Northern Inland Innovation Awards dinner and presentation evening is held in a different local government area within the region. In 2016, these regional Awards will be presented at the Inverell RSM Club on Friday, 18 November.

“Many of our unique operators can get so busy doing what they do, they don’t stop and think about what they do and how it is special. There are so many benefits of doing just that!” Mr. Stewart said.

“If you can promote what your enterprise has done as innovative then it (your industry and this region) can also be seen as progressive, creative and rewarding,” Mr Stewart said. “I would like to see as many businesses and organisations as possible take just a little time to tell us their story. Why not go to the Awards’ website and download the entry form? There is no cost and it could develop into a fantastic marketing tool.”

“Through innovation, regional operators can achieve better outcomes, improve their competitive edge, sustainability and growth.”

“The practical importance of these awards is demonstrated by the generous support they receive by such regionally focused organisations as Prime Super and the University of New England.”

The NIIA Categories are:

  • Agriculture / Horticulture and associated services;
  • Health, Aged Care and Disability Services;
  • Retail, Tourism & Leisure; Professional and Government services;
  • Manufacturing and Engineering; and Research and Education.


The RDANI Innovation Awards judging panel will vote on the RDANI Innovation of the Year Award from the winners of each category. Finalists for each category will be invited to attend the gala awards night, with the general public also encouraged to come along.